Ku Klux Klan Act


Please purchase for access to the document text and analysis

During the Reconstruction era after the Civil War, the U.S. Congress passed four Civil Rights Acts, on April 9, 1866; May 31, 1870; April 20, 1871; and March 1, 1875. The third is also known as the Ku Klux Klan Act. Collectively, these acts are sometimes called Enforcement Acts, for they were intended to create a more just and racially inclusive American culture by enforcing the Fourteenth and Fifteenth Amendments to the U.S. Constitution, which, together with the Thirteenth Amendment...