Slavery Clauses in the U.S. Constitution


Please purchase for access to the document text and analysis

The U.S. Constitution was written at a convention that met in Philadelphia from May 25 until September 17, 1787. At the time, slavery was legal and a vibrant economic institution in eight states, while two (Massachusetts and New Hampshire) had abolished it, and three others (Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Connecticut) had passed gradual abolition acts. There were about 700,000 slaves in the nation, with more than 600,000 in Virginia, South Carolina, North Carolina, and Maryland. Virginia’s...