Government of India Act


The Government of India Act of 1919 was the latest in a series of acts passed by the British parliament to define the structure of government and administration in Great Britain's chief colony, India. A total of sixteen other Government of India Acts were passed by Parliament. The chief purpose of the 1919 act was to allow the people of India greater participation in their own government. Toward this end, it created a dyarchy, or a dual form of government, in India's provinces, with power shared by the Crown and local authorities. The Government of India Act of 1919 relinquished to provincial councils Britain's control of some areas of government, such as agriculture, education, and health, while other areas of government, such as foreign policy, justice, communications, and the military, remained under the authority of Great Britain through its appointed viceroy of India. The act also enlarged and reformed the Imperial Legislative Council, transforming it into a bicameral...

Image for: Government of India Act

John Morley (Library of Congress)

View Full Size