Korean Declaration of Independence



Following the First Sino-Japanese War (1894–1895) and the Russo-Japanese War (1904–1905), both of which were fought in part over control of Korean territory, Japan's takeover of Korea began in earnest with the forced signing of a protectorate treaty in 1905. After the Korean royal military was disbanded in 1907, the Korean “righteous army”—irregular militias—bitterly fought the Japanese throughout the country until 1910, when the nation was formally colonized by Japan, effectively ending the Choson Dynasty (1392–1910). According to Japanese statistics, over 2,800 clashes...

Image for: Korean Declaration of Independence

King Kojong (Library of Congress)

View Full Size