Yalta Conference Joint Statement


In early 1945 the war with Nazi Germany in Europe had finally turned decisively in favor of the Allies. In January and February the political leaders of the Allied Powers—U.S. President Franklin D. Roosevelt, Soviet Premier Joseph Stalin, and British Prime Minister Winston Churchill—met at Yalta on the Crimean peninsula to discuss the settling of peace for postwar Europe. The leaders met three times during the war—at Tehran in 1943 and at Potsdam in 1945—but the Yalta Conference Joint Statement was the most important outcome of the three meetings. While it established the principle that postwar cooperation between the Allies would continue when the war was over, it also set the terms for the coming cold war that would occupy the political, foreign, and military policies of the United States and the Soviet Union for the next forty-five years.

Image for: Yalta Conference Joint Statement

Prime Minister Winston Churchill, President Franklin D. Roosevelt, and Marshal Joseph Stalin at Yalta (Library of Congress)

View Full Size